First post, First time, First class – Asiamiles redemption

Hi, my name is Fred and I’m from Hong Kong, gladly from a place with relevantly genuine rate of miles earning with Asiamiles, the dedicated FFP of Cathay Pacific airways. I have been actively earning for Asiamiles for the past 3 to 4 years, previously from United Mileage since my school days back in 2011.

I’m currently actively holding miles from United Mileage Plus, Cathay Pacific Asiamiles, ANA Mileage and British Airways avios.

It is my first time to open this blog dedicated for my flying experiences and mileages earnings and redemption. And it is also my first time to redeem premium cabin from my miles points (should had done it earlier as were able to).

blog1
Asiamiles’s Redemption table for Oneworld multi-carrier Awards Chart

Considered with the availability of First class products in advanced dates and the limited routes it being served, I have chosen 14,000 miles itinerary as my optimal redemption for First class and i can save some of my miles for the next trip on Business Class.

For this time, my destinations are London, Paris and Iran, with additional bonus stops in Doha and Bangkok, plus a bonus short flight on Business class from Guangzhou to Hong Kong.

blog3
(F) HKG-LHR CX253; (F) LHR-DOH BA123; (J) SYZ-DOH QR477; (F) DOH-BKK QR830; (F) BKK-HKG CX708; (J) CAN-HKG KA789

Since I have just oneway flight from Iran, I have also added another flight (Y) class, DOH-MHD with additional 7,500 Avios from British Airways.

blog4
It is relatively expensive considered 1 Avios worth more than 0.1 HKD. but it is still cheaper than marketed price.

However, due to limited availability, i was unable to take the (J) DOH-SYZ QR476 and try Al Mourjan Business Class Lounge instead the SYZ-DOH instead of QR477 without any ground facility in SYZ. But gladly due to the (F) LHR-DOH BA123, I will be able to access the Oneworld First class lounge at DOH for my connection flights as accordance to below Oneworld rules:

blog5.JPG

 

Finally have made my way to this exciting redemption in my life time:

blog6

blog7.JPG

 

Let’s compared to what I have paid and what it costs on market, for the main routes in First that I would mostly wanted to try: CX: HKG-LHR, BA: LHR-DOH and QR: DOH-BKK, considered else are bonus.

blog11blog12blog13

(76 320 Hong Kong dollars) + (13 465 Qatar riyals) + (6 039.77 British pounds) =
21 189.2328 U.S. dollars / 2 = 10,594.6164 USD for oneway fare and earning 18,811.5 miles

 

vs What I have spent on tax and fees: 589.70 US Dollar and spending 155,000 miles

It’s around per miles equal 0.058 USD saving, not sound taking most of it but definitely something I would like to try once in my life time.

Let’s see if these are impressive and worth for such this planing.

Hope to see have more flight reports and updates soon.

Leave a Reply

